SEVENSTAX SMTP

The Simple Mail Transfer Protocol (SMTP) is a "Host-to-Host Protocol for the transmission of messages. It is used primarily for sending e-mails, and is used in practically any email client. In embedded systems, it is mainly used to regularly send a system status, or an ad hoc report errors.

The SEVENSTAX SMTP includes the SMTP stack and embedded mail user agent (MUA), which controls the sending process.According to RFC 2821 SMTP works over TCP on port 25.

Sending is possible with or without authentication. The authentication is the process:

  • SMTP after POP 

  • SMTP Auth. according to RFC 2554

be carried out.

The usual way, the SMTP can transmit only ASCII text. In combination with the SEVENSTAX MIME module, other content can be transferred.

SEVENSTAX POP3

The Post Office Protocol (POP) is a protocol for retrieving e-mails from an e-mail server. In version 3 (RFC 1081, POP3) it is a protocol utilized a global standard for querying e-mails. The simplicity and widespread use makes the protocol for embedded systems interesting. Embedded systems are to load regular data, and configurations from a server that can send e-mails so to be an alternative to a custom server architecture.

The SEVENSTAX POP3 includes the POP stack in version 3 and an embedded mail user agent (MUA), which controls the receiving process. According to RFC 1939, works with the POP3 module via TCP port 110 and can communicate with standard mail servers.

Authentication takes place either via plain text Auth. or MD5, and APOP. The received data is analyzed via streaming parser and passed to the application. In combination with the module SEVENSTAX MIME attachments can not be detected (attachments) and will be evaluated ASCII content.

SEVENSTAX Telnet

The Telecommunication Network Protocol (Telnet) is a bi-directional byte-oriented network protocol. It is used to realize a simple data exchange between two participants, and uses TCP for data transfer. Compared to a pure TCP / IP socket, connections are replaced in addition to the Telnet connection-specific options and take into account the different requirements of heterogeneous networks.

Telnet clients are an integral part of a virtually all operating systems,
i.e. telnet can be used at any time without installation.

The SEVENSTAX telnet server is a implementation in accordance with RFC 854 / RFC 855 and supports TELNET sessions on TCP port 23 The port can be changed optionally.
The following TELNET options are supported:

  •   1 - Echo (RFC 857)

  •   3 - Suppress Go Ahead (RFC 858)

  •  31 - Negotiate About Window Size (RFC 1073)

Other options can be added by the application.
The SEVENSTAX Telnet Server is fully compatible with commercial telnet client for Windows, Unix, Linux and Apple.

Particularly powerful of SEVENSTAX Telnet Server through the use of SEVENSTAX NVT (Network Virtual Terminal). Using the NVT is the Telnet server is a powerful development and configuration tools.

SEVENSTAX NVT

The Network Virtual Terminal (NVT) is a character-terminal to input and output of data and commands. It uses a conventional manner in conjunction with the Telnet protocol, and serves as a virtual device between the two sides of the telnet session (client and server). In embedded systems, the NVT in combination with the built-in shell can be effectively leveraged to retrieve status information and configuration. Through its resource-saving operation, it can also be used in small systems.

The SEVENSTAX NVT is corresponding to RFC854 and includes an editor and an embedded shell with command functions. The SEVENSTAX NVT works sign and line-oriented, takes over the keyboard input from a port or a protocol and returns the required screen output. The input and output interface of the NVT can be connected with SEVENSTAX telnet server, the XMPP client associated with a driver or a serial interface.
The editor supports the "Backspace" - and the arrow keys and can work with and without echo. Inputs are captured in a simple history and can be retrieved.
The embedded shell provides the following functionality:

  • Start message with the device name and version 

  • Log on name and password 

  • Output of a log-strings and a prompt string 

  • controllable echo function 

  • standard integrated command 

  • generic interface to expand the command

When you login, the password input is hidden.

SEVENSTAX SMTP

Das Simple Mail Transfer Protocol (SMTP) ist ein „Host-to-Host“-Protokoll zur Übertragung von Mails. Es wird vorwiegend zum Versenden von E-Mails verwendet und ist praktisch in jedem Mail-Client enthalten. In embedded Systemen wird es vorwiegend genutzt, um einen Systemstatus regelmäßig zu senden oder ad-hoc Fehler zu melden.

Das SEVENSTAX SMTP beinhaltet den SMTP-Stack und einen embedded Mail User Agent (MUA), der den Sendeprozess steuert. Entsprechend RFC 2821 arbeitet das SMTP über TCP auf Port 25.

Das Senden ist mit und ohne Authentifizierung möglich. Die Authentifizierung kann nach den Verfahren:

  • SMTP after POP
  • SMTP-Auth. nach RFC 2554

durchgeführt werden.

Üblicherweise kann das SMTP nur ASCII-Texte übertragen. In Kombination mit dem SEVENSTAX MIME Modul können auch andere Inhalte übertragen werden.

SEVENSTAX POP3

Das Post Office Protocol (POP) ist ein Protokoll zum Abfragen von E-Mails von einem E-Mail-Server. In der Version 3 (RFC 1081, POP3) ist das Protokoll ein weltweit genutzter Standard zur Abfrage von E-Mails. Die Einfachheit und große Verbreitung macht das Protokoll auch für embedded Systeme interessant. Sollen embedded Systeme regelmäßig Daten bzw. Konfigurationen von einem Server laden, können E-Mails eine Alternative zu einer kundenspezifischen Serverarchitektur sein.

Das SEVENSTAX POP3 beinhaltet den POP3-Stack und einen embedded Mail User Agent (MUA), der den Empfangsprozess steuert. Entsprechend RFC 1939 arbeitet das POP3-Modul über TCP auf Port 110 und kann mit üblichen Mailservern kommunizieren.

Die Authentifizierung erfolgt entweder über „plain text“-Auth. oder über APOP und MD5. Die empfangenen Daten werden per Streaming-Parser ausgewertet und an die Applikation weitergeleitet. In Kombination mit dem SEVENSTAX MIME Modul können auch Anhänge (Attachments) erkannt und nicht-ASCII-Inhalte ausgewertet werden.

SEVENSTAX Telnet

Das Telecommunication Network Protocol (Telnet) ist ein bidirektionales byte-orientiertes Netzwerkprotokoll. Es dient dazu, einen einfachen Datenaustausch zwischen zwei Teilnehmern zu realisieren und nutzt zur Datenübertragung TCP. Gegenüber einer reinen TCP-Socket-Verbindung werden beim Telnet zusätzlich verbindungsspezifische Optionen ausgetauscht und die unterschiedlichen Anforderungen heterogener Netze berücksichtigt.

Telnet-Clients sind fester Bestandteil praktisch aller Betriebssysteme, d.h. Telnet kann jederzeit ohne Installation genutzt werden.

Das SEVENSTAX Telnet ist eine Serverimplementation nach RFC 854 / RFC 855 und unterstützt TELNET-Sessions über TCP Port 23. Der Port lässt sich optional ändern.

Folgende TELNET-Optionen werden unterstützt:

  • 1 - Echo (RFC 857)
  • 3 - Suppress Go Ahead (RFC 858)
  • 31 - Negotiate About Window Size (RFC 1073)

Weitere Optionen können durch die Applikation hinzugefügt werden.

Der SEVENSTAX Telnet-Server ist vollständig kompatibel mit kommerziellen Telnet-Clients für Windows, Unix, Linux und Apple.

Besonders leistungsfähig wird der SEVENSTAX Telnet-Server durch den Einsatz des SEVENSTAX NVT (Network Virtual Terminal). Mit Hilfe des NVT wird aus dem Telnet-Server ein leistungsstarkes Entwicklungs- und Konfigurationswerkzeug.

SEVENSTAX NVT

Das Network Virtual Terminal (NVT) ist ein zeichenorientiertes Terminal zur Ein-und Ausgabe von Daten und Kommandos. Es wird üblicherweise in Verbindung mit dem Telnet-Protokoll verwendet und dient als virtuelles Device zwischen beiden Seiten der Telnet-Verbindung (Client und Server). In embedded Systemen kann das NVT in Kombination mit der integrierten Shell hervorragend zur Abfrage von Statusinformationen und zur Konfiguration genutzt werden. Durch seine ressourcensparende Arbeitsweise kann es auch in kleinen Systemen eingesetzt werden.

Das SEVENSTAX NVT entspricht der RFC854 und beinhaltet auch einen Editor und eine embedded Shell mit Kommandofunktionen. Das SEVENSTAX NVT arbeitet zeichen- und zeilenorientiert, übernimmt die Tastatureingaben von einer Schnittstelle oder einem Protokoll und sendet die erforderlichen Bildschirmausgaben zurück. Die Ein- und Ausgabeschnittstelle des NVT kann mit dem SEVENSTAX Telnet-Server, dem XMPP-Client oder mit einem Treiber einer seriellen Schnittstelle verbunden werden.

Der Editor unterstützt die „Backspace“- und die Pfeil-Tasten und kann mit und ohne Echo arbeiten. Eingaben werden in einer einfachen Historie erfasst und können abgerufen werden.

Die embedded Shell bietet folgende Funktionalität:

  • Startmeldung mit Gerätenamen und Version
  • Login über Name und Passwort
  • Ausgabe eines Login-Strings und eines Prompt-Strings
  • steuerbare Echofunktion
  • integrierte Standard-Kommandos
  • generische Schnittstelle zur Erweiterung der Kommandos

Beim Login wird die Passworteingabe verborgen.